Let’s make America great again

I’ve always loved the United States of America. Or at least for as long as I can remember.

I moved to the border in Mexico when I was 8 years old from Mexico City.

I loved going on weekend trips with my family to El Paso, TX. It was the perfect opportunity for me to practice my English and be helpful to my parents who did not speak a word of the language. My dad would pick me up in his arms and sat me at the counter, where I would talk to the people at the hotel desks to get our reservations and ask salespersons in the big stores for prices when my mom or my dad needed help.

After I graduated high school I spend 9 months in Idaho can exchange student. It was a great experience. I was there to perfect my English after I have spent all my life in bilingual schools. It was amazing, as I got to live what it was to be in High School with everything that came attached to it. Prom, Homecoming, Cheerleading, Debate Club and Football games. I loved every second of it. And I was hooked.

When I went back home I knew right away that I wanted to go to an American College. I passed the opportunity to get a full-ride scholarship in one of the top universities in the country because of my GPA. I chose to go to the University of Texas El Paso instead. It was close enough from home but as far as the way I wanted it to be. I spend the next 5 years finishing my undergraduate and beginning my graduate degree there.

After I came back to Mexico I was no longer in Mexican citizen only. I was a hybrid. I was a Texan and Mexican and American in some way or form. I loved the USA and all the opportunities that I had received. I got to be in college and be exposed to fantastic opportunities that allow me to grow as an individual and as a professional.

There were organizations, grants, networking and associations that allowed students to get professional mentors and get real-life experience before even graduating. And internships. And I took advantage of it all. Thanks to that exposure I was able to get an amazing job in Mexico City as I started my professional life in 2001.

My first week of work was during 9/11. I watched in disbelief as the towers came crumbling down one-by-one from an office in Mexico City. I could not believe this was happening. My heart hurts my soul hurts for my second country although I wasn’t an American yet.

I met a man, fell in love, got married had a child. My husband had dual citizensip (Mexico-USA). His mother, who was born and raised in Buffalo New York but have lived all her life in Mexico City was able to register him in the embassy when he was born as a child.

A month after I delivered my first child my husband moved to New York City to start a new job, and my baby and I followed a couple of months later. I become a legal resident and had another child that was born in Brooklyn.  Then and got a job in the city. And then House in the suburbs.

I was living the American dream and thrived on knowing that my children were growing in a safe place filled with opportunities for them to reach out to and aspire to. Then last year I become an American citizen why my heart is filled with pride knowing that I was becoming what I always dreamed of to be when I was little. I knew I belonged here and that I had work hard to be a good responsible citizen to help this country achieved everyone dream the American dream. My heart was filled with pride knowing I lived in a place where I could be proud to be a Mexican citizen as well as an American that everybody would accept me and allow me to dream big and to work hard for what I believed in.

Everything was going great until Donald Trump decided to run for president last year.

The dream and reality that I have lived for the last 20 years of time I quickly started to crumble in front of my eyes.

Words of hatred and segregation started to feel the media and the news and everywhere we looked at. I was in dismay and disbelief thinking that one man could bring out such an ugly part of a nation that I have never wanted to see before.

Mr. Trump was the medium but he was not the only one carrying that message. He was taking the lid off Pandora’s Box. He was giving a voice to thousands on hundreds of thousands of people that shared that hatred and wanted to go back 60 years in time to a place where race, gender, sexual orientation and religion were still valid causes to be discriminated against.

I choose to believe that we are better than that I want to believe that America is the place that I dreamed of as a child and that I came to love and respect as an adult. Where I came to build a life and a life for my children. One man cannot be the reflection of something so evil, dark and hateful. I choose to believe we are all better than that and that we are not going to let one man destroy what America is for every person living in this country whether there were born here like my second child or emigrated with a dream like myself and my husband and my first born.

I choose to believe united we are the greatest country in the world but only if you’re open to tolerance, respect and equality. Discrimination will destroy us. Segregation will no longer allow us to be the greatest country in this earth. Hatred will split this country and I don’t want to wake up one day and realize that the last 20 years of my life or brought down by one man that thought he would unite our country will feelings of hate.

America! Wake up! We are better than that! Way better than that. Look around you. Stop blaming others for your mistakes and work hard to move ahead. Think of our future and the future of our children , and pleased think before you vote. This is not a vote for the Celebrity Apprentice or The Bachelor or another dumb reality show. This is the road to our future and for our children’s future.

Please remember who we are as a nation and how far we’ve come. We are a nation of immigrants that have built this country together. Vote with your heart and vote with your brain. It’s up to all of us to keep the American dream alive. And this will only happen by putting all segregation aside and vote responsibly. This is far from being a joke anymore and far from being funny. This is scary and dark.

Last week I had a parent-teacher conference I send my husband and I waited in the school hall. My husband I was caught by a drawing on the wall. The teacher had assigned my son’s class to write or draw something related to the “I have a dream” speech from Martin Luther King. More than one child had chosen to illustrate this dream by dreaming that Donald Trump will not be president of this country.12443132_10156708849985501_279744815_n

I share that dream and I hope that you all will share it to.

Let’s make America great again but not by voting for some celebrity that thinks that running a country is like running a reality show. Let’s make America great by uniting side-by-side with our neighbors no matter what gender or religion or sexual orientation they have and working together for a greater goal with tolerance respect and love. That will make America great again.

I hope.

 

Leave a Reply

