Badass Mother Ragnar Runner

OK so I am running a Ragnar race in October.

For those of you that do not know what that means, Ragnar, here is the official definition:

Ragnar is the overnight running relay race that makes testing your limits a team sport.
You and 11 of your craziest friends (or 5 of your crazier friends for an ultra team) pile into two vans and tag team running 200(ish) miles, day and night, relay-style. Only one runner hits the road at a time. Each participant runs three times, with each leg ranging between 3-8 miles and varying in difficulty. So, from the elite runner down to the novice jogger, it’s the perfect race for anyone.

And yes, I am one of those 12 runners. Actually runner 11.

How did this happen? Well, My friends Sarah and Dimity, talented authors or “Run like a mother” and “Train like a mother” book franchise that has become the bible for mother runners, launched this challenge last  spring:

http://anothermotherrunner.com/2013/03/31/ragnar-relay-contest-team-dimity-vs-team-sarah-in-the-ultimate-mother-runner-showdown/

and I applied for it by creating a facebook page, asking all my friends to tell them, why I should be chosen for the challenge.

This is my application video:
Ragnar Race application video

The response was overwhelming, and lots and lots of my friends and even my dear husband came to help me and wrote wonderful things about me that brought me to tears every time I read them. They were so convincing that I got IN and became a member of Team Sarah.  here is the official announcement:

http://bit.ly/1a0btEO

I was overwhelmed and excited and within the next week or so, I also founf out I had gotten in the ING NYC marathon 2013, so 2 of my most coveted running bucket list items happened to me within less than a month.

On June 17 I started my training for both the Ragnar race and the NYC marathon.

I am now on week 12 of the 20 week plan and I am so excited about it. I just learned that I will be running 2 of my Ragnar legs on trails! I am runner #11. As many of you may know, I am a barefoot runner and use Vibram FiveFingers to run, so I was very scared and nervous about this, considering that both the first 2 legs were not only trails but also almost 10 miles long each and qualified as “Very Hard” by the Ragnar website

I decided to do some research and got myself the only option recommended for trail running for Vibrams.  The Spyridon that are specifically designed for Trail running

Image

Took them out for a run and they were great! Now, I actually have to take the to a trail and test them out.

Here is a list of items of what I have gotten so far in getting prepared for Ragnar:

  • Barefoot trail running shoes
  • Head lamp
  • Reflective vest
  • Tail lamp
  • Camping Backpack to carry all my gear
  • and some sweet Swag I have gotten from our team sponsors from Saucony, Nutzo, and Nuun

I am just a month away from the Ragnar and 2 from the start line to the NYC marathon. I can’t believe it. My longest run so far has been 14 miles for this training plan and I have done loads of runs on the treadmill because of the humidity in New England. I have been watching Dexter from season 1 to 5 on it and as much as I have enjoyed it, I need to go outside and hit some hills

1276968_10151967605549305_247489085_o

It seems like yesterday, when 6 years ago, when I first moved to Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, I was standing by the expectators line watching the marathoners run through my hood with my husband and my 7 month old baby. Today, My 2 sons (7 and 5) and my husband, will drive to pick me up at the finish line of the Ragnar race that goes from Cumberland, MD to Washington, DC. And they will be waiting for me in Central Park when I hopefully cross the finish line of my second marathon.

Life is good… Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

